Homepage Background

About the book…

They were friends—just friends. Now they’re something else entirely…

Jason

When I think back, on almost any given day, I see Maggie. In college, she was my best friend’s girlfriend. But, as they say, time changes things. I suppose the funeral was the turning point, when we began depending on each other. Sometime around then, our friendship deepened. Adam asked me to watch out for her, and I did. When bad news hit, she got me through rough days.

If luck fell on my side, I’d make her mine in every way. But, she deserves so much more from life than my prognosis.

A decade of history binds us. One drunken night and we’re fighting. Christ, she’s telling me to go see a therapist. If I can’t figure out how to go back to the way things were, I’ll lose the most important relationship of my life. The only one that truly matters.

Maggie

Last night, we shared tequila. I found myself hoping, like I always do.

I’d replay last night a thousand times if I could. It’s the morning after that needs erasing.

Our problem? His love for me isn’t the more kind of love. He’s made that abundantly clear. And that’s okay. Some part of me knows Jason will always see me as his best friend’s girl. Because of our past, he prefers me in the just-a-friend role.

I can’t lose our friendship. If he wants to stay in the friend zone, I need to accept that. Move on. Find someone else to love. Rationally, I do know this.

But convincing my heart…well, that’s another story entirely.

Homepage Background

More from the West Side Series…

When The Stars Align
When The Stars Align

A passion-fueled, friends to lovers romance from award-winning author Isabel Jolie. When the Stars Align is all about the choices we make, and how a career can sometimes get in the way of actually living.

Trust Me - Isabel Jolie Cover
Trust Me Cover

A standalone billionaire romance set in New York City and Montreal with intrigue, suspense and a fulfilling HEA. Fans of Nicole Snow, Kate Canterbury, and Kristen Proby will love this series that spans the globe with steamy romance and a wide variety of love stories.

Walk The Dog

A hot single dad romance between a reluctant dog sitter and the veterinarian. When Delilah meets Mason, she thinks he’ll be like any of the other guys she dates a few times. She sees her time in New York as temporary, and she just wants to have fun. As a single parent, Mason’s got a completely different view on life.  What starts out as one date leads to more than either of them know how to balance.

Sarah S.
review stars
I absolutely loved this book! I started reading this while getting the kids ready for bed one night and once they were in the bed I jumped into the book. Even though I knew they were going to be up early I couldn’t put it down. I stayed up until 2 in the morning and even then had to force myself to go to sleep! This is the exact type of story I love to read.
Lee L.
review stars
I don’t normally read these type of books, but this was a good one! I could feel Jackson’s hands on Anna (and wanted them on me!) I can’t wait to read the next one.
Kathryn M.
review stars
When The Stars Align is the first book in the West Side Series by Isabel Jolie. This story is entertaining and satisfying. Anna and Jackson are interesting characters and I found myself rooting for them to find their second chance Happily Ever After. I am excited for more books in this series.
Ashley S.
review stars
Anna and Jackson dated four years ago until they had a disagreement and went their separate ways. Now he has moved into her building on the same floor and first they become friends and then friends with benefits but as they begin to fall for each other they back away. This is a wonderful book that kept me totally engrossed.

Homepage Background
Isabel Jolie Photo

About the Author

Isabel Jolie, aka Izzy, lives on a lake, loves dogs of all stripes, and if she’s not working, she can be found reading, often with a glass of wine in hand. In prior lives, Izzie worked in marketing and advertising, in a variety of industries, such as financial services, entertainment, and technology. In this life, she loves daydreaming and writing contemporary romances with strong heroines.